Tuesday, June 14, 2016

The Congress of Vienna 1814-1815

The Congress of Vienna is the landmark in the history of international negotiation. It did not meet to create peace de novo, but to carry out the terms of a preliminary agreement, which was embodied in no less than seven treaties, between France and its various allied opponent.

At the congress the victorious European powers (Austria, Britain, Prussian and Russia) set about bringing peace and order to the continent by reviving the principle of monarchic legitimacy and taking steps to forestall future French expansion.

The territorial settlement of the Congress of Vienna was composed of three agreements signed between 1814 and 1815.
*Treaty of Paris (30 May 1814)
*Final Act of the Congress of Vienna (9 June 1815)
*Second Treaty of Paris

In common understanding, the Congress of Vienna, the peace conference at the end of the Napoleonic Wars, established the principle of the ‘balance of power’. All agreed that no European state should threaten to dominate the continent as France had done.
The Congress of Vienna 1814-1815

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

The most popular articles