Sunday, May 23, 2021

Helladic culture

Helladic Culture flourished in central Greece and the Peloponnesus. Along with the Minoan and Cycladic cultures, it forms part of the Aegean civilization. During the Bronze Age, Greece (also referred to as the Helladic Period) was ruled by independent kingdoms that were probably often in conflict with one another

Helladic culture was named after ancient Greece Hallas. The Helladic period therefore refers to the era when the civilization flourished in Greece.

The Helladic culture is subdivided into the early (3200 to 2000 B.C.), middle (2000 to 1580 B.C), and late (1580 to 1o50 B.C.) periods, that is, into Early Helladic, Middle Helladic (Minyan period), and Late Helladic (Mycenaean period).

Early, Middle and Late Helladic periods were distinguished on the basis of stratigraphy and the account of the excavations which was published in 1921 provided a documented framework of relative chronology. The different periods are largely determined by changes in pottery, since the Aegean culture lacked a writing system.
Helladic culture

Articles from other webs